Bhakti Yoga Meditation
Home: Bhakti Shatak: Verses 11 to 20

Bhakti Shatak
Bhakti Philosophy - Verses 11 to 20

Bhakti Shatak (or 100 verse on devotion) written by Jagadguru Shri Kripalu ji Maharaj, is a clear and concise description of the complete philosophy of the devotional path for the seeker of divine love.

Apart from its priceless philosophy, it's simple poetic form can easily be sung and remembered. Verses 11 to 20 are below. You will also be able to hear a verse being sung if the "Listen" link is next to it.

  1. Bhakti Shatak11

    Jag mahan sukh dukh dou nahin, as ur dhari le gyan.
    Sukh mane dukh milat hai, sukh na jagat mahan man.

    Firmly understand that there is no joy or sorrow in this world. If you believe worldly objects are a source of happiness, in their absence you will feel sorrow. Accept the fact that there is no true happiness in the world.
  2. Bhakti Shatak12

    Jag virag ho titnoi, jitnoi Hari anurag.
    Tab ho hari anurag jab, Guru charanan man lag.

    After surrendering to the lotus feet of a true Guru, and with his grace, a devotee begins to experience true bhakti in the form of affectional affinity (bhav or love) for Krishna. The degree of his detachment to the world is proportional to his attachment to Krishna.
  3. Bhakti Shatak13

    Jag so vimukh hoya jab, sancho sadguru paya.
    Karat satat satsang tab, hari sanmukh hwai jaya.

    After finding and receiving the grace of a true Guru, a devotee becomes detached from worldly attractions. Through continuous association of the Guru, and proper regular devotion, the devotee will begin to feel true affinity for Krishna.
  4. Bhakti Shatak14

    Hari anurag virag jag, apuhin apu na hoya.
    Man te bhajan kiye bina, bhakti na pave koya.

    Attachment to Krishna and detachment from the world do not happen automatically. To receive this, one must do singled-minded and wholehearted devotion to Radha Krishn.
  5. Bhakti Shatak15

    Sancho das na kabahun caha, panchahun mukti balaya.
    Chahai yugal seva sada, tin sukh sukhi sadaya.

    A true devotee of Krishn does not want any of the five kinds of liberation. His only desire is to serve Radha Krishna all the time and be happy in Their happiness.
  6. Bhakti Shatak16

    Jo swami son chahai kachu, so nahin das kahaya.
    Sou swami na kahay jo, dasahin as lagaya.

    That servant is not a true servant who desires something from his Master. That Master is not a true Master who hopes for something from his servant.
  7. Bhakti Shatak17

    Hari ko nam roop gun, harijan nitya nivas.
    Sabai ek hari roop hain, sab men sab ko vas.

    Krishna's name, form, virtues, abode and Saints are all one, and all eternally reside in each other.
  8. Bhakti Shatak18

    Sabai shakti hain nam men, man! Nishidin aradh.
    Pai nahin shaktin labh tin, kiye nam aparadh.

    Oh mind! All of Krishna's powers reside in His anme, therefore remember and sing His name all the time. but be careful not to commit spiritual transgressions (which obstruct your ability to experience the bliss of the divine name.
  9. Bhakti Shatak19

    Bandhan aur mokch ka, karan manahi bakhan.
    Yate kauniu bhakti karu, karu man te Hari dhyan.

    The cause of bondage as well as liberation from maya is only the mind. Thus, it is important the mind is absorbed in loving remembrance of Krishna while doing any kind of devotion.
  10. Bhakti Shatak20

    Ram nam sab satya kah, jab laun jat masan.
    Lautat hi puni jagat kahan, satya man dhani gyan.

    In India, "Ram nam satya hai" (Lord Ram's name is the only truth)is repeated by those who accompany a dead body for cremation. As soon as they return home, they feel the world is the only truth. What kind of understanding is this?