Bhakti Yoga Meditation
Home: Bhakti Shatak: Verses 21 to 30

Bhakti Shatak
Bhakti Philosophy - Verses 21 to 30

Bhakti Shatak (or 100 verse on devotion) written by Jagadguru Shri Kripalu ji Maharaj, is a clear and concise description of the complete philosophy of the devotional path for the seeker of divine love.

Apart from its priceless philosophy, it's simple poetic form can easily be sung and remembered. Verses 21 to 30 are below. You will also be able to hear a verse being sung if the "Listen" link is next to it.

  1. Bhakti Shatak21

    Teen roop Shri Krishna ko, Ved Vyas bataya.
    Brahm aur paramatma, aru bhagwan kayaa.

    Ved Vyas Ji has described three forms of supreme God Krishna in the Bhagwatam: (1) brahma, (2) paramatma, (3) bhagwan.
  2. Bhakti Shatak22

    Sarv-shakti sampann ho, shakti vikas na hoya.
    Sat chit anand roop jo, brahm kahave soya.

    The form of God in which all the divine powers are present, but are totally dormant, and which is merely a divine existence is called sat-chit-anand brahm (sat is active, but chit and anand are dormant).
  3. Bhakti Shatak23

    Sarv-shakti sanyukt ho, nam roop gun hoya.
    Leela parikar rahit ho, paramatma hai soya.

    Almighty God who has an all-beautiful divine personal form, who has every divine power, and who also has uncountable names, forms and virtues, but who does not perform divine leelas (pastimes), and who has no intimate divine associates is called paramatma.
  4. Bhakti Shatak24

    Sarv-shakti prakatya ho, leela vividh prakar.
    Viharat parikar sang jo, tehi bhagawan pukar.

    The form of God in whom every divine power is fully manifested, whose all-beautiful divine form has unlimited names and virtues, and Who is always performing all-loving leelas with His intimate divine associates in His divine abode is Bhagwan Krishna.
  5. Bhakti Shatak25

    Brahm-prapti-path gyan hai, paramtma-path yog.
    Krishna-prapti-path bhakti hai, adhikari sab log.

    The path to attain brahm is called jnana, the path to attain paramatma is yoga, and the path to attain Krishna (bhagavan) is bhakti or devotion. Everyone is qualified to practice bhakti.
  6. Bhakti Shatak26

    Gyani aru yogi lahain, nij swaroop ko gyan.
    Hari swaroop jane nahin, maya mahin bhulan.

    Jnanis and yogis (who don't add devotion to their practice), even after receiving the ultimate attainment on their path, can't be liberated from Maya because they have only gained self-realization (knowledge of the soul, which is under the bondage of Maya). They have no practical knowledge of paramatma, the personal form of God whose grace breaks the bondage of Maya.
  7. Bhakti Shatak27

    Gyani aru yogi jabai, krishna-bhakti ur an.
    Krishna kripa te hi tabai, paven brahm gyan.

    Jnanis and yogis are able to attain divine knowledge (jnana) by practicing devotion and receiving God's grace. Otherwise, their worshipped form of brahm is a non-doer, so doesn't bestow the grace that liberates a soul from Maya.
  8. Bhakti Shatak28

    Kotin gyanin madhya kou, prem-sudha-ras paya.
    Jimi Sankadi Shukadi man, braj-ras rahe dubaya.

    Out of millions of jnanis, one fortunate jnani receives divine love. Jnanis like Shukdev Paramhans and the four Sankadik were drowned in braj ras, the bliss of the loving leelas of Radha Krishna.
  9. Bhakti Shatak29

    Krishna kripa binu jay nahin, maya ati balvan.
    Sharanagat par ho kripa, yah Gita ko gyan.

    Maya is so powerful that it can't be eliminated without shaktiman Krishna's grace. That grace is received only by selflessly surrendering to Him. This is the essence of the Bhagavad Gita's teachings.
  10. Bhakti Shatak30

    Jimi ho sheet nivritt tin, jin dhing agini sidhar.
    Timi ho kripa tinahin jin, man jaye Hari dwar.

    Just as your feelings of cold disappear the closer you come to a fire, so those who come close to Shri Krishna by surrendering to Him and lovingly establishing their minds in Him receive His grace.