Bhakti Yoga Meditation
Home: Bhakti Shatak: Verses 41 to 50

Bhakti Shatak
Bhakti Philosophy - Verses 41 to 50

Bhakti Shatak (or 100 verse on devotion) written by Jagadguru Shri Kripalu ji Maharaj, is a clear and concise description of the complete philosophy of the devotional path for the seeker of divine love.

Apart from its priceless philosophy, it's simple poetic form can easily be sung and remembered. Verses 41 to 50 are below. You will also be able to hear a verse being sung if the "Listen" link is next to it.

  1. Bhakti Shatak41

    Deshkal nahin niyam kachu, nahin kachu shishtachar.
    Saral hriday nahin chal kapat, prem panth balihar.

    I adore the path of devotion where there are no rules for the time and place of practice, nor are there any ritualistic or social formalities. Just sincerely love Krishna with a faithful heart.
  2. Bhakti Shatak42

    'Jivu', 'maya', dui shaktiman Bhagavan.
    Shaktihin bhed abhed bhi, shakti man jan.

    The soul and Maya are powers of God. It is considered that the soul and Maya maintain their own separate existence, and also are one with God. Thus they have a simultaneous relationship with God of being absolutely one with Him and also separate from Him.
  3. Bhakti Shatak43

    Atma bich paramatma, karat nivas saday.
    Yate kahun kahun atma, paramatma kahlay.

    God as paramatma, eternally resides in each and every soul. That is whay in some places in the scriptures, the soul (atma) has been referred to as paramatma.
  4. Bhakti Shatak44

    Lakhat rahat nit bhakti mukh, karma, yoga, aru gyan.
    Ati swatantra hai bhakti path, Ved Puran bakhan.

    The paths of karma, yoga and jnana need the support of devotion to be complete. Devotion doesn't need the support of any other path. It is independent and complete in itself. This has been said in the Vedas and Puranas.
  5. Bhakti Shatak45

    Brahm lok paryant sukh, aru muktihun sukh tyag.
    Tabai dharahu pag prem path, nahin lagi jaihain dag.

    Abandoning all desires for pleasures and luxuries up to Brahma's abode and the desire for the five kinds of liberation, immerse yourself in the ocean of devotion. Otherwise, the purity of devotion will be blemished by the stain of worldly desires.
  6. Bhakti Shatak46

    Sevak seva hi chahai, sevya Shyam ruchi jan.
    Tin sukh mahan rah sukhi nit, ur na kamana aan.

    A true devotee only desires to selflessly serve his Master, Shri Krishna. He should find pleasure in whatever gives his Master pleasure. He should feel happy in the happiness of his Divine beloved.
  7. Bhakti Shatak47

    Gyan bina ho bhagati pai, bhagati bina nahin gyan.
    bhagati bina ho gyan jo, lavat ur abhiman.

    Bhakti doesn't need jnana to be complete, but for jnana, devotion is is absolutely necessary. Without devotion, jnana produces a false sense of spiritual pride. This makes attaining liberation completely out of the question.
  8. Bhakti Shatak48

    Binu Hari kripa na jati yah, maya ati balvan.
    Gyanin brahm na kachu kar, puni kimi kar kalyan.

    Without Krishna's grace Maya can't be ended, because Maya is an extremely strong power. This grace is also required by jnanis because the brahm who the jnanis worship is a complete non-doer (and doesn't bestow grace).
  9. Bhakti Shatak49

    Binu Hari kripa na pai sak, gyanihun brahm gyan.
    Brahm akarta Ved kah, sochahun manahin sujan.

    With the grace of the personal form of God, jnanis can't receive divine knowledge of formless brahm. The Vedas say that brahm doesn't perform action. This being the case, there is no possibility He will bestow grace.
  10. Bhakti Shatak50

    Sant sang satsang kar, tin sevahun din rat.
    Shraddha, rati aru-bhakti, sab, apuhin tehi mili jat.

    Surrender to a true Rasik Saint. Through his continuous satsang, and in this order, faith, love and devotion for Krishna will automatically develop.